Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

Here we talk about TheoTown in general.
User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a Galaxy Cluster
Reactions:
Posts: 2892
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: In a place you don't expect.
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: Have 3, all too long

Platform

Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#1

Post by BetterBear » Sat Aug 12, 2017 13:08

Why? Can't we just increase the game size a bit?
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
Ølsken
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 4988
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 14:53
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: Samsung S10

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#2

Post by Ølsken » Sat Aug 12, 2017 13:16

Because the device can't store it
ImageJust my opinion

User avatar
khadafi laidi
Inhabitant of a Planet
Reactions:
Posts: 1303
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 13:11
Location: Ternate, Indonesia
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: Xiaomi note A5

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#3

Post by khadafi laidi » Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:02

You think TT is PC game???
(Sorry when this cruel)
Fact about me:
-President of FINDONEZIA
-Im rarely active right now
-Subscribe my channel:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCWS1fz ... 4syaxcA74A

User avatar
MXD77
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 0:05
Location: Gdańsk
Plugins: Show

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#4

Post by MXD77 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:04

Bearbear65 wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 13:16
Because the device can't store it
It's should be dependent be you
If you have lots of memory you can get lots of plugin
If you haven't a lot of memory you should watch out when oyu downloaded plugin
Simple :) :bc
Happy owner of cat and dog :D
Have a niceday :)
And greatings from Gdańsk ;)

User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a Galaxy Cluster
Reactions:
Posts: 2892
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: In a place you don't expect.
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: Have 3, all too long

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#5

Post by BetterBear » Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:22

Nope, I mean, its gonna take like 1GB just to increase texture space by let's say, 500x500?
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
BetterBear
Inhabitant of a Galaxy Cluster
Reactions:
Posts: 2892
Joined: Tue Apr 18, 2017 9:03
Location: In a place you don't expect.
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: Have 3, all too long

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#6

Post by BetterBear » Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:22

MXD77 wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:04
Bearbear65 wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 13:16
Because the device can't store it
It's should be dependent be you
If you have lots of memory you can get lots of plugin
If you haven't a lot of memory you should watch out when oyu downloaded plugin
Simple :) :bc
Nope, plugins have limits, no matter how much memory your device have.
BEaRz ArE AmAZiNG. I Am FeElIng SlEepY..

User avatar
MXD77
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 256
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 0:05
Location: Gdańsk
Plugins: Show

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#7

Post by MXD77 » Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:24

BetterBear wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:22
Nope, plugins have limits, no matter how much memory your device have.
I mean it could be in future
Happy owner of cat and dog :D
Have a niceday :)
And greatings from Gdańsk ;)

HoRizon
Townsman
Reactions:
Posts: 78
Joined: Sat Jul 29, 2017 8:20

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#8

Post by HoRizon » Sat Aug 12, 2017 15:30

BetterBear wrote:
Sat Aug 12, 2017 14:22
Nope, I mean, its gonna take like 1GB just to increase texture space by let's say, 500x500?
Well I doubt that would be true due to Theotown (for me personally) taking roughly 53MB and thats with about 25 maps.

That also includes Graphic Sheets and Coding...

So?

Lobby if possible please answer this question
cause its hurting my brain.
President of Soeti.

Current Population - 172,836,194 and counting...

User avatar
NisekoKilla
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 345
Joined: Wed Nov 16, 2016 15:22
Location: UK
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: Huawei P smart Z

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#9

Post by NisekoKilla » Sat Aug 12, 2017 15:47

i was just thinking is it possible to remove all official buildings from theotown and add your own buildings (plugins) instead?
(then you will have lots of space xDDD)
Just a guy from the Mars... :/
My coub Click me

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3406
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: S7 edge

Platform

Re: Why can't TheoTown have unlimited texture space?

#10

Post by Lobby » Sat Aug 12, 2017 17:55

The important thing here isn't APK file size but the memory we have available during runtime. And what's important here isn't your RAM (at least if you have >= 1GB RAM) but your VRAM. That's the memory available for textures, shaders etc. We have to store our texture there in order to be able to render all the stuff in real time as otherwise it would be way to slow. Unfortunately your VRAM is often much more limited than your RAM and you cannot even check easily how much VRAM you have/have left :teach
...Have a nice stay

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Game Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests