Generating a city or region from a height map image

You have great tips for other players? Share them here.
User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3637
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Generating a city or region from a height map image

#1

Post by Lobby »

Hi, in recent versions of the game you can create cities and regions from height map images. Such images look like that:
Image
The brightness of each pixel determines the height of the corresponding tile in the city. The brightness ranges from 0 to 255, with 10 being the sea level. Dependent on where you have your height maps from you may have to adjust their contrast and brightness. See the entry on Wikipedia for more information about height maps.

You can get real world height map data for example from http://terrain.party/

In order to generate a city from a height map place the height map image file into your TheoTown folder and remember its name. Then go into the game, create a new city, and enter the name of the height map file (including the file ending) into the seed text field. The picture will be scaled to match the selected city size.
image.png
Append #somerandomtext to add some randomness to the map generation in case you are not happy with the result (e.g. the biomes on the map).

Of course, you can do the same thing for regions. The result :img
image.png
The height map that's used here is a part of New York and was extracted using http://terrain.party/ :img
ny.png
Note how dark the image is because of the lack of hills in New York.

This feature is compatible with all recent versions of the game :66:
However, the version for iOS doesn't support 16 bit (per channel) images right now. This is a special format that is used by some height map creators; you may have to save them with an image program to make them compatible with the game.

A template to generate a completely flat map:
image.png
image.png (105 Bytes) Viewed 8890 times
=^._.^= ∫

User avatar
SomeIndianGuy
Inhabitant of a Conurbation
Reactions:
Posts: 474
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2018 14:45
Location: Residence of President,Diplomatic District,Central Marzadaqae City,Socialist Republic Of Marzadaqae
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#2

Post by SomeIndianGuy »

So TT now has incorporated elements from Openttd now?
Nice

User avatar
yusuf8a684
Inhabitant of a Planet
Reactions:
Posts: 1302
Joined: Sun Dec 10, 2017 22:09
Location: Turkiye
Plugins: Show

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#3

Post by yusuf8a684 »


I know quality is bad due to my amateur skills but you can still read the comments to get more information
Last edited by yusuf8a684 on Thu Jan 23, 2020 10:57, edited 2 times in total.
The Internet Addict

I can't define my self time to time... Just do not %100 trust me. Texting that honestly...

Know your friends well, enemies

User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 14:53
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#4

Post by Bearbear76 »

BBcode not working?
Just my opinion

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9239
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#5

Post by CommanderABab »

No, he added the

Code: Select all

&t=8s
at the end.
Image

ormishen
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 14:08
Plugins: Show

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#6

Post by ormishen »

Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9239
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#7

Post by CommanderABab »

ormishen wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 15:30
Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?
What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.
Image

ormishen
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 14:08
Plugins: Show

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#8

Post by ormishen »

CommanderABab wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 18:51
ormishen wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 15:30
Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?
What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.
I tried a couple of different. But the one I have right now which i want is 317k. It shouldn't be too big I think. I can share it here. https://imgshare.io/images/2020/03/11/sthlm.png
Last edited by ormishen on Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:38, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9239
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#9

Post by CommanderABab »

ormishen wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 21:35
CommanderABab wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 18:51
ormishen wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 15:30
Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?
What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.
I tried a couple of different. But the one I have right now which i want is 317k. It shouldn't be too big I think. I can share it here.
https://imgshare.io/images/2020/03/11/sthlm.png
Image

ormishen
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2020 14:08
Plugins: Show

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#10

Post by ormishen »

CommanderABab wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 22:04
ormishen wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 21:35
CommanderABab wrote:
Wed Mar 11, 2020 18:51


What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.
I tried a couple of different. But the one I have right now which i want is 317k. It shouldn't be too big I think. I can share it here.
https://imgshare.io/images/2020/03/11/sthlm.png

Did you forget to write anything?

If it works for somebody else, is it possible to provide a seed based on the height map?

User avatar
Bevise
Micy's Assistant
Reactions:
Posts: 214
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 15:39
Location: Pearl Island, Vietnam
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#11

Post by Bevise »

How to create a single region with the same shape as the heightmap. :?:
You know, Bevise is not my real name, but .. who cares about that?

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9239
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#12

Post by CommanderABab »

See the first post. :)
Image

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9239
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#13

Post by CommanderABab »

Lobby wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 14:58
Hi, in recent versions of the game you can create cities and regions from height map images. Such images look like that:
Image
The brightness of each pixel determines the height of the corresponding tile in the city. The brightness ranges from 0 to 255, with 10 being the sea level. Dependent on where you have your height maps from you may have to adjust their contrast and brightness. See the entry on Wikipedia for more information about height maps.

You can get real world height map data for example from http://terrain.party/

In order to generate a city from a height map place the height map image file into your TheoTown folder and remember its name. Then go into the game, create a new city, and enter the name of the height map file (including the file ending) into the seed text field. The picture will be scaled to match the selected city size.
image.png
Append #somerandomtext to add some randomness to the map generation in case you are not happy with the result (e.g. the biomes on the map).

The game also allows you to generate a region out of a height map. To do that, use the following scheme for the cr console command:

Code: Select all

cr:{name:"New York",bmp:"ny.png",size:12,maps:[0,0,6, 6,0,6, 0,6,6, 6,6,6]}
See the topic about generating regions for more information about the cr command and how to use it. Note that you have to enable debug mode and experimental features in the setting in order to use the console.
The result :img
image.png

The height map that's used here is a part of New York and was extracted using http://terrain.party/ :img
ny.png
Note how dark the image is because of the lack of hills in New York.

This feature is compatible with all recent versions of the game :66:
However, the version for iOS doesn't support 16 bit (per channel) images right now. This is a special format that is used by some height map creators; you may have to save them with an image program to make them compatible with the game.
Image

User avatar
PetrovMaksYt
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 205
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2020 11:26

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#14

Post by PetrovMaksYt »

Wow well. But i have 1.5.88 because my phone have android 4.3 but micrimax 5.1 usually off and lag every 1 - 2 minutes and not lag more time.
WELCOME! geif83kjf4v4o4mv4tnuinwonp4rbn2958h9.

Achmad Romi
Townsman
Reactions:
Posts: 46
Joined: Sat Aug 29, 2020 6:33
Location: Indonesia
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#15

Post by Achmad Romi »

:!: bagaimana cara membuat sebuah benua?
Di terrain.party hanya dapat foto sebuah kota
give me a green city :bb

User avatar
AzulaFL
Metropolitan
Reactions:
Posts: 131
Joined: Fri Apr 24, 2020 9:52
Location: Harvard University
Plugins: Show

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#16

Post by AzulaFL »

I tried it but there was no water in dusseldorf i had to make the river thankfully it somewhat had an outline of the river, in amsterdam the whole map was in water 😆
🇵🇭
⛦ Theotown presents ⛦
𝕭𝖚𝖓𝖉𝖊𝖘𝖗𝖊𝖕𝖚𝖇𝖑𝖎𝖐 𝕴𝖓𝖓𝖘𝖇𝖗𝖚𝖈𝖐
BY: @AZULA.FL


:space

STREAM LOVESICK GIRLS BY BLACKPINK

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3637
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#17

Post by Lobby »

Lobby wrote:
Wed Jun 26, 2019 14:58
The brightness of each pixel determines the height of the corresponding tile in the city. The brightness ranges from 0 to 255, with 10 being the sea level. Dependent on where you have your height maps from you may have to adjust their contrast and brightness.
So you usually can fix that by adjusting the brightness of the whole image so that the area that should be water has a brightness of 10 or below.
=^._.^= ∫

User avatar
mapla
Small-town resident
Reactions:
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:21
Location: Karbāla
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#18

Post by mapla »

terrain.party error
but this lol anything

User avatar
Designer Anthony
Metropolitan
Reactions:
Posts: 104
Joined: Sat May 23, 2020 20:40
Location: California, USA
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#19

Post by Designer Anthony »

How do you make maps from heightmaps in TheoTown using Android?

User avatar
byxxiaonanhui
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 220
Joined: Mon May 04, 2020 9:19
Location: Shijingshan Beijing China
Plugins: Show

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#20

Post by byxxiaonanhui »

Designer Anthony wrote:
Fri Oct 02, 2020 22:57
How do you make maps from height maps in TheoTown using Android?
Put the heightmap in the Theotown folder and then do the same thing as the first post.
My other username is "thermometer screen".
Yes, the thermometer screen that can help to measure weather.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Tips and Tricks”