Generating a city or region from a height map image

You have great tips for other players? Share them here.
User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Generating a city or region from a height map image

#1

Post by Lobby »

Hi, in recent versions of the game you can create cities and regions from height map images. Such images look like that:
Image
The brightness of each pixel determines the height of the corresponding tile in the city. The brightness ranges from 0 to 255, with 10 being the sea level. Dependent on where you have your height maps from you may have to adjust their contrast and brightness. See the entry on Wikipedia for more information about height maps.

You can get real world height map data for example from http://terrain.party/

In order to generate a city from a height map place the height map image file into your TheoTown folder and remember its name. Then go into the game, create a new city, and enter the name of the height map file (including the file ending) into the seed text field. The picture will be scaled to match the selected city size.
image.png
Append #somerandomtext to add some randomness to the map generation in case you are not happy with the result (e.g. the biomes on the map).

Of course, you can do the same thing for regions. The result :img
image.png
The height map that's used here is a part of New York and was extracted using http://terrain.party/ :img
ny.png
Note how dark the image is because of the lack of hills in New York.

This feature is compatible with all recent versions of the game :66:
However, the version for iOS doesn't support 16 bit (per channel) images right now. This is a special format that is used by some height map creators; you may have to save them with an image program to make them compatible with the game.

A template to generate a completely flat map:
image.png
image.png (105 Bytes) Viewed 40660 times

User avatar
SomeIndianGuy
TheoTown Veteran in Pension
Reactions:
Posts: 509
Joined: 05 Jun 2018, 14:45
Location: In your dreams, stalker ;)
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#2

Post by SomeIndianGuy »

So TT now has incorporated elements from Openttd now?
Nice

User avatar
yusuf8a684
Reactions:

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#3

Post by yusuf8a684 »


I know quality is bad due to my amateur skills but you can still read the comments to get more information
Last edited by yusuf8a684 on 23 Jan 2020, 10:57, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5730
Joined: 10 Feb 2017, 14:53
Location: L2 cache
Plugins: Showcase Store

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#4

Post by Bearbear76 »

BBcode not working?

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#5

Post by CommanderABab »

No, he added the

Code: Select all

&t=8s
at the end.

User avatar
ormishen
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Mar 2020, 14:08
Plugins: Showcase Store

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#6

Post by ormishen »

Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#7

Post by CommanderABab »

ormishen wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 15:30
Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?
What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.

User avatar
ormishen
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Mar 2020, 14:08
Plugins: Showcase Store

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#8

Post by ormishen »

CommanderABab wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 18:51
ormishen wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 15:30
Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?
What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.
I tried a couple of different. But the one I have right now which i want is 317k. It shouldn't be too big I think. I can share it here. https://imgshare.io/images/2020/03/11/sthlm.png
Last edited by ormishen on 12 Mar 2020, 09:38, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#9

Post by CommanderABab »

ormishen wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 21:35
CommanderABab wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 18:51
ormishen wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 15:30
Hey!

Really been trying to get a map based on my hometown of Stockholm. I've figured out how to download a map but when I go to add it in theotown the game freezes.

I'm playing on a MacBook FYI.

Any advice?
What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.
I tried a couple of different. But the one I have right now which i want is 317k. It shouldn't be too big I think. I can share it here.
https://imgshare.io/images/2020/03/11/sthlm.png

User avatar
ormishen
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 4
Joined: 11 Mar 2020, 14:08
Plugins: Showcase Store

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#10

Post by ormishen »

CommanderABab wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 22:04
ormishen wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 21:35
CommanderABab wrote:
11 Mar 2020, 18:51


What size is the image?
You might have to reduce the size in a graphics program if it is very large.
I tried a couple of different. But the one I have right now which i want is 317k. It shouldn't be too big I think. I can share it here.
https://imgshare.io/images/2020/03/11/sthlm.png

Did you forget to write anything?

If it works for somebody else, is it possible to provide a seed based on the height map?

User avatar
Bevise
Micy's Assistant
Reactions:
Posts: 502
Joined: 27 Feb 2020, 15:39
Location: Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#11

Post by Bevise »

How to create a single region with the same shape as the heightmap. :?:

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#12

Post by CommanderABab »

See the first post. :)

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#13

Post by CommanderABab »

Lobby wrote:
26 Jun 2019, 14:58
Hi, in recent versions of the game you can create cities and regions from height map images. Such images look like that:
Image
The brightness of each pixel determines the height of the corresponding tile in the city. The brightness ranges from 0 to 255, with 10 being the sea level. Dependent on where you have your height maps from you may have to adjust their contrast and brightness. See the entry on Wikipedia for more information about height maps.

You can get real world height map data for example from http://terrain.party/

In order to generate a city from a height map place the height map image file into your TheoTown folder and remember its name. Then go into the game, create a new city, and enter the name of the height map file (including the file ending) into the seed text field. The picture will be scaled to match the selected city size.
image.png
Append #somerandomtext to add some randomness to the map generation in case you are not happy with the result (e.g. the biomes on the map).

The game also allows you to generate a region out of a height map. To do that, use the following scheme for the cr console command:

Code: Select all

cr:{name:"New York",bmp:"ny.png",size:12,maps:[0,0,6, 6,0,6, 0,6,6, 6,6,6]}
See the topic about generating regions for more information about the cr command and how to use it. Note that you have to enable debug mode and experimental features in the setting in order to use the console.
The result :img
image.png

The height map that's used here is a part of New York and was extracted using http://terrain.party/ :img
ny.png
Note how dark the image is because of the lack of hills in New York.

This feature is compatible with all recent versions of the game :66:
However, the version for iOS doesn't support 16 bit (per channel) images right now. This is a special format that is used by some height map creators; you may have to save them with an image program to make them compatible with the game.

User avatar
PetrovMaksYt
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 337
Joined: 16 Aug 2020, 11:26
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#14

Post by PetrovMaksYt »

Wow well. But i have 1.5.88 because my phone have android 4.3 but micrimax 5.1 usually off and lag every 1 - 2 minutes and not lag more time.

User avatar
Achmad Romi
Townsman
Reactions:
Posts: 49
Joined: 29 Aug 2020, 06:33
Location: Indonesia
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#15

Post by Achmad Romi »

:!: bagaimana cara membuat sebuah benua?
Di terrain.party hanya dapat foto sebuah kota

User avatar
AzulaFL
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 170
Joined: 24 Apr 2020, 09:52
Location: Harvard University
Plugins: Showcase Store

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#16

Post by AzulaFL »

I tried it but there was no water in dusseldorf i had to make the river thankfully it somewhat had an outline of the river, in amsterdam the whole map was in water 😆

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#17

Post by Lobby »

Lobby wrote:
26 Jun 2019, 14:58
The brightness of each pixel determines the height of the corresponding tile in the city. The brightness ranges from 0 to 255, with 10 being the sea level. Dependent on where you have your height maps from you may have to adjust their contrast and brightness.
So you usually can fix that by adjusting the brightness of the whole image so that the area that should be water has a brightness of 10 or below.

User avatar
mapla
Small-town resident
Reactions:
Posts: 26
Joined: 16 Jun 2020, 06:21
Location: Karbāla
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#18

Post by mapla »

terrain.party error

User avatar
Designer Anthony
Reactions:

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#19

Post by Designer Anthony »

How do you make maps from heightmaps in TheoTown using Android?

User avatar
byxxiaonanhui
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 226
Joined: 04 May 2020, 09:19
Location: Shijingshan Beijing China
Plugins: Showcase Store

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Generating a city or region from a height map image

#20

Post by byxxiaonanhui »

Designer Anthony wrote:
02 Oct 2020, 22:57
How do you make maps from height maps in TheoTown using Android?
Put the heightmap in the Theotown folder and then do the same thing as the first post.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Tips and Tricks”