How To Change Gamemode From Sandbox Or Free In Your City

You have great tips for other players? Share them here.
Jeremiah Stephens
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 16:56
Plugins: Show

Platform

Plugin Creator

How To Change Gamemode From Sandbox Or Free In Your City

#1

Post by Jeremiah Stephens »

Show
For those who are on android, read this first
Only works at Andrioid 5.1(L) or above and Android 10(Q) or below. Unfortunately, the ingame file explorer doesn't have ability to move or copy files
Also works on windows, I don't think this should work on iOS or Mac or Linux

I will use android, 7_4.city (the default city in the theonia region), the theonia region, and sub.city (a city that isn't part of a region) as examples

I recommend to back up these files before you proceed

:windows C:/users/[username]/TheoTown/

:android /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/

1. Exit the game
Show
single cities only
2. Go to /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/maps on (android built-in) file explorer
3. Find and move or copy sub.city to /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/regions/default from /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/maps
4. Go to /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/regions/default on (on android, android built-in) file explorer
5. Delete 7_4.city or insert _ to 7_4.city file name
6. Rename sub.city to 7_4.city
7. Jump to step 10
Show
region cities only
2. Go to /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/regions/default on (android built-in) file explorer
3. Rename 7_4.city to _7_4.city
4. Go back into the game
5. Click or tap where 7_4.city is in the region, click or tap Reset, and click or tap OK
6. Exit the game
7. Redo step 2
8. Delete 7_4.city
9. Rename _7_4.city to 7_4.city
10. Go back into the game
11. Click or tap where 7_4 is in the region, click or tap New city and select any game mode, and click or tap Start

Warning: statistics and date will be reset
Show
single cities only
12. Exit the game
13. Go to /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/regions/default on (android built-in) file explorer
14. Move or copy 7_4.city to /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/maps from /storage/emulated/0/android/data/info.flowersoft.theotown.theotown/files/regions/default
15. Rename 7_4.city to sub.city
The term sub doesn't matter because you can use any name you want as long the file name has .city ending, but 7_4 or X_Y are the coordinates where 7_4 or X_Y should be in the region and also they should have .city ending in their file name as well





Reply your thoughts about this and these videos
Last edited by Jeremiah Stephens on Mon Aug 09, 2021 21:16, edited 3 times in total.
Check out my TheoTown YouTube videos (and subscribe): https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... wCvFdgyiTk
Show
Warning: do not tap or click "Show"
Just kidding, join my discord server: http://discord.gg/hA5EVazhCC

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9584
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: How To Change Gamemode From Sandbox Or Free In Your City

#2

Post by CommanderABab »

This also does not work on Android 11 with the built in file explorer as it shows no files in the android/data directory.

Also be sure the substitute city is the same size as the one being replaced.

This is not changing game mode of a map in the region! It is replacing a map in the region. There is a difference.

Jeremiah Stephens
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 208
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2020 16:56
Plugins: Show

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: How To Change Gamemode From Sandbox Or Free In Your City

#3

Post by Jeremiah Stephens »

CommanderABab wrote:
Mon Aug 09, 2021 19:34
This also does not work on Android 11 with the built in file explorer as it shows no files in the android/data directory.
...
@JustAnyone[Posts][PM]
Unless the device is rooted?
Check out my TheoTown YouTube videos (and subscribe): https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=P ... wCvFdgyiTk
Show
Warning: do not tap or click "Show"
Just kidding, join my discord server: http://discord.gg/hA5EVazhCC

User avatar
JustAnyone
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3217
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 12:45
Location: Easter Island
Plugins: Show

Platform

Re: How To Change Gamemode From Sandbox Or Free In Your City

#4

Post by JustAnyone »

The absolute majority of players don't even know what root is, henceforth, it's not very useful.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Tips and Tricks”