How to get old/own TheoTown music

You have great tips for other players? Share them here.
User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3590
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

How to get old/own TheoTown music

#1

Post by Lobby »

Hi, for those of you who want back the old music here's a short tutorial on how to do so.

1. Use a file manager to navigate to the folder TheoTown/music on your device and delete all of it's contents.

2. Download and extract the music you'd like to have.

More classical music (this is the music in the game right now):
lucas_music.zip
(18.15 MiB) Downloaded 740 times

More happy, modern music:
bensound_music.zip
(34.34 MiB) Downloaded 42 times
The contents belong into the TheoTown/music directory.

The archive contains an empty file called .nofilecreation. This file is important as it prevents the game from downloading the new music pieces again. You can alternatively deactivate static file download in the settings of TheoTown.

If you want to use your own music simply remove all the files in TheoTown/music and place your own music files there (on iOS only mp3 files are supported). Don't forget to disable static file download in the settings or create (an empty) file with the exact name .nofilecreation.

There are a few music pieces built right into the game which cannot be replaced. However, the more external music files you offer the more unlikely it is for the internal ones to be played.
=^._.^= ∫

User avatar
FranchuFranchu
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 798
Joined: Sun May 28, 2017 0:07
Location: Freezing in Argentina
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: How to get old TheoTown music

#2

Post by FranchuFranchu »

My dream!!!
The new music is very ugly and I think I've already heard it in 3 different games and videos (CC I guess?)
Last edited by FranchuFranchu on Mon Jul 15, 2019 22:16, edited 1 time in total.
Did you know you can't blink while smiling :) ?

User avatar
JoshuaIND
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3658
Joined: Wed May 23, 2018 10:58
Location: New Imperial Palace, Gloria, Arstotzkan Federation
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: How to get old/own TheoTown music

#3

Post by JoshuaIND »

I think I can add hardbass music XD

Akira Maruni
Townsman
Reactions:
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 13:51
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: How to get old/own TheoTown music

#4

Post by Akira Maruni »

@Lobby[Posts][PM]

1) I have some favorite new songs and still wanna save. The rests aren't deleted, but they are backed up to another folder. Can I just move some songs which aren't my favorites to another folder and then extract the old songs to music folder ?

2) Somedays, I want to move all of the new songs to another folder. So, there will be no new songs anymore, but to be my music library. Can I move it to another folder ?

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3590
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: How to get old/own TheoTown music

#5

Post by Lobby »

Ensure that there's a file named .nofilecreation in your music directory. That way you prevent the game from searching for music online. The game simply uses all the songs that it can find so you can move the music files to control exactly what to use :)
=^._.^= ∫

Akira Maruni
Townsman
Reactions:
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2017 13:51
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: How to get old/own TheoTown music

#6

Post by Akira Maruni »

Thanks for your answer... 😂 Well yeah, now I just have ±6 new songs only and another are deleted...

I think you should add feature to turn on and off songs in music settings. So, players can control the songs easily. 😂

User avatar
mapla
Small-town resident
Reactions:
Posts: 25
Joined: Tue Jun 16, 2020 6:21
Location: Karbāla
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: How to get old/own TheoTown music

#7

Post by mapla »

Add music in theotown works mp3.
but this lol anything

Kygekraqmak
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jul 25, 2020 8:35

Re: How to get old/own TheoTown music

#8

Post by Kygekraqmak »

I've tried to put my own music, but it didn't worked. Instead, it plays the old music. I've created the

Code: Select all

.nofilecreation
file.
Last edited by Kygekraqmak on Sun Jul 26, 2020 9:40, edited 1 time in total.

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Tips and Tricks”