[1.8.58] Ground tiles

Learn here how to create and use plugins.

Moderator: Plugin Moderators

User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5297
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 14:53
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

[1.8.58] Ground tiles

#1

Post by Bearbear76 »

Hello!
With the upcoming update 1.8.58 a new feature has been added to JSON called:

Code: Select all

"ground tiles": [ "$ground_00", "$ground_01", "$ground_02" ],  //array with ground ids
This will randomly select one ground tile in the given array and build it under the building.
So for example, you want to make a building that has asphalt as it's ground you would simply add this line of JSON:

Code: Select all

"ground tiles": [ "$asphalt00", "$asphalt01", "$asphalt02" ]
nice asphalt :)
nice asphalt :)
SPOILER_401c90c6-3ca7-458e-8245-58e2e77e66eb.png (219.95 KiB) Viewed 309 times
Also by adding a wide variety of grounds your building won't look too repetitive.
You could also save plugin space by using this method if you use a variety of ground tiles for a variety of buildings.

\(space = grounds + buildings\)
space you use when using the ground tile method (new method)

\(space = grounds \cdot buildings\)
space you use adding the ground individually to each building (old method)

make sure you do some quick maths since the ground tile method won't always save plugin space!
1 ground frame, 3 buildings
  • new method: 3 + 1 = 4 <-- uses more plugin space :(
  • old method: 3 * 1 = 3
3 ground frames, 4 buildings
  • new method: 3 + 4 = 7 <-- uses less plugin space :)
  • old method: 3 * 4 = 12
This is an example of how you would implement it in your JSON:

Code: Select all

[	{
		//old method
 		"id": "$ground_tile_example",
  		...
		"random frames": true,
		 "frames": [
		 	{"bmp": "$example_building00"},
	 		{"bmp": "$example_building01"},
		 	{"bmp": "$example_building02"}
		 ]
	},
	{
		//new method
		//this makes it more concise, yet much more readable
		"id": "$ground_tile_example",
		...
		"draw ground": true,
		"frames": [{"bmp": "$example_building"}],
		"ground tiles": [ "$example_tile00", "$example_tile01", "$example_tile02" ]
	}
]
:jb: Bear out!
ImageJust my opinion

User avatar
Bevise
Micy's Assistant
Reactions:
Posts: 213
Joined: Thu Feb 27, 2020 15:39
Location: Pearl Island, Vietnam
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: [1.8.58] Ground tiles

#2

Post by Bevise »

What does "random frames" mean?
You know, Bevise is not my real name, but ... who cares about that?
  • Comment your role-play flag and name here:
    Go

User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5297
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 14:53
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: [1.8.58] Ground tiles

#3

Post by Bearbear76 »

Bevise wrote:
Sun May 31, 2020 14:33
What does "random frames" mean?
Advanced tags for building plugins wrote: "random frame": (bool),
Every time you place the building, a random frame from the frame array will be selected
does almost the same thing. :)
ImageJust my opinion

User avatar
distian
Townsman
Reactions:
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat Apr 04, 2020 17:36
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: [1.8.58] Ground tiles

#4

Post by distian »

What ground is automatically removed when i bulldoze buildings?
:fire

User avatar
JustAnyone
enjenir
Reactions:
Posts: 2887
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 12:45
Location: Easter Island
Plugins: Show

Re: [1.8.58] Ground tiles

#5

Post by JustAnyone »

This exact ground

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Tutorials and Documentation”