Page 5 of 7

Re: Roads

Posted: 10 Jan 2020, 16:53
by Lobby
Do you mean these?
image.png
image.png (5.5 KiB) Viewed 10899 times

Re: Roads

Posted: 27 Jan 2020, 04:54
by Lakan Haraya
Excuse me :') what does offset x/y mean? :/

Re: Roads

Posted: 12 Feb 2020, 03:45
by OnlyMe
How would it look like for high ways. Do you have a template for it.

Re: Roads

Posted: 18 Mar 2020, 17:44
by Axton12
Yes

Re: Roads

Posted: 18 Apr 2020, 11:01
by Ashmayor
Please Can i get New Dirt Road Frames?

Re: Roads

Posted: 02 May 2020, 14:47
by ian`
@Lobby , Can I make the car run lower on the bridge? I am trying to make a bridge lower than 12 for use in rivers or narrow water zones.
please ignore the bridge frames, it can be fixed later if the car can run lower.
please ignore the bridge frames, it can be fixed later if the car can run lower.

Re: Roads

Posted: 02 May 2020, 15:49
by Lobby
So you have tried to set a lower value than 12 for "bridge height"?

Since terrain has been added to the game the height of bridges is more or less fixed to 12px so that it is compatible with terrain. Changing that coupling is likely to break something :/

Re: Roads

Posted: 02 May 2020, 17:36
by CommanderABab
I don't think it breaks anything, but the cars go up/down 12 at ramps no matter bridge height value. :)

Re: Roads

Posted: 09 Jun 2020, 07:40
by CERRERA
How about elevated rail

Re: Roads

Posted: 18 Oct 2020, 19:34
by Achmad Romi
Can you make a 1 lane road like this bus road?
Screenshot_2020-10-19-00-21-02.png
Correct my mistakes because I'm using google translate
*Lajur bukan Jalur

Re: Roads

Posted: 15 Dec 2020, 18:44
by Toby
:D
Achmad Romi wrote:
18 Oct 2020, 19:34
Can you make a 1 lane road like this bus road?Screenshot_2020-10-19-00-21-02.png
Correct my mistakes because I'm using google translate
*Lajur bukan Jalur

Re: Roads

Posted: 16 Dec 2020, 23:24
by PixelDubs
mdk_813 wrote:
13 Jan 2018, 21:09
Hi guys,
I have a question.
Let's say I want to make a oneway-road, but without 64 frames and without an arrow-overlay. Would it be possible to provide just 16 frames and still have it work as a oneway road. Obviously one would have to pay attention to use the proper directions when building it, but still, would it work?
I tried that, but it did not work, this was what
happened.
It combines 4 random road textures if it's a plugin or not and just stacks them on top.
Screenshot_20201216-212249.png

Re: Roads

Posted: 17 Dec 2020, 02:24
by CommanderABab
It works if you provide the same 16 frames road texture 4 times.

Re: Roads

Posted: 28 Jan 2021, 14:02
by JustAnyone
Following update 1.9.68, an official support for diagonal roads has been added.

Unfortunately, pre-existing diagonal plugins won't work as there are additional things to consider.

Below is an example of how you would define diagonal roads

Code: Select all    Reset

[{ "hidden":true, // Hide the diagonal road parts from toolbar "id":"$diagonal_road_diagonal00", // ... "type":"road", "draw ground":true, "frames":[ {"bmp":"diagonal.png","w":32,"h":16,"count":16} ], "allow diagonal":true // Tell the game to display cars diagonally for this road }, { "id":"$diagonal_road00", // ... "type":"road", "frames":[ {"bmp":"regular.png","w":32,"h":16,"count":16} ], "diagonal road":"$diagonal_road_diagonal00" // We reference the real diagonal road, that way the road itself can have regular curves too }]
JSON checker
Check
Frames associated with the JSON code above
regular.png
regular.png (6.73 KiB) Viewed 9886 times
diagonal.png
diagonal.png (7.57 KiB) Viewed 9886 times
Example of working implementation of such roads provided in a zip here:
Diagonal Road Test.zip
(11.64 KiB) Downloaded 197 times

Re: Roads

Posted: 28 Jan 2021, 19:16
by CommanderABab
Pretty cool!

Re: Roads

Posted: 11 Mar 2021, 13:14
by THEMAX
Does anyone have the textures for rail bridges & rail slopes ?

Re: Roads

Posted: 12 Mar 2021, 09:40
by yusuf8a684
THEMAX wrote:
11 Mar 2021, 13:14
Does anyone have the textures for rail bridges & rail slopes ?
Keinname on discord has them

Re: Roads

Posted: 31 Oct 2021, 11:05
by Wepf
Lobby wrote:
04 Jun 2017, 22:01
So let's create a road plugin. I would like to have a blue road similar to the existing country road that looks like this:
Image


To get started we need some frames for the base graphics first: road.png
Image
The orientation follows a specific order. For your own road it's sufficient to use this graphic as template. You have to provide 16 frames here.

As we want to have a bridge we also have to provide graphics for it: bridge.png
image.png
The ordering is important :!:
If we want to use a bridge we have to tell TheoTown the pixel height of it. For some reason the height has to be 12. The number of frames must be a multiple of 12. If you provide 24 frame for example, your road will have two bridge types.

Additionally, in case we want to have some traffic lights, we might use this ones: tf.png
Image
If we use traffic lights, we also have to provide more information about phase lengths.

Our json code may now look like

Code: Select all

[
  {
    "id":"$testroad00",
    "type":"road",
    "level":1,
    "speed":2.0,

    "frames":[{"bmp":"road.png","w":32,"h":16,"count":16}],

    "bridge frames":[{"bmp":"bridge.png","w":32,"h":48,"count":12}],
    "bridge height":12,

    "traffic lights":[{"bmp":"tf.png","w":32,"h":32,"count":4}],
    "green phase":3000,
    "yellow phase":500,

    "price":50,
    "bridge price":200,
    "monthly price":2
  }
]
Note how I use can reference multiple frames from one image by providing values w, h and count.

The value level determines whether this road overrides other road types. Every road has it's own level and can only override roads which have a lower level. Value speed determines how fast cars will drive on this road. For reference, the slowest road has speed 1.0, the fastest road has speed 5.0 (natively in the game).

If you don't provide any frames for traffic lights your road won't have any. The values green phase and yellow phase indicate phase length in milliseconds (1000ms = 1s).



:66:
For recent versions please note that the road on the ramp needs one additional line of pixels on the top end to cover specific transitions between slopes and none slopes. The ramps in the image above have already been fixed.

Since terrain was added you can now specify your own frames that will be used for road that is placed directly onto slopes:

Code: Select all

"slope frames":[
  {"x":120,"y":311,"w":32,"h":32,"count":4,"offset x":2048,"offset y":1024}
],
For example:
image.png
By default the game will use the frames provided for flat road and squeeze them onto the slope. Alternatively, if provided, the ramps of the bridge(s) will be used.
Can I use the road frames for my road plugin?

Re: Roads

Posted: 18 Nov 2021, 10:35
by THEMAX
I was wondering something, are diagonal bridges supported yet and if so, can we get a tutorial for these too ?

@JustAnyone @Lobby

Re: Roads

Posted: 25 Nov 2021, 09:45
by Wepf
Screenshot_20211125-141913_TheoTown.jpg
Screenshot_20211125-141913_TheoTown.jpg (15.41 KiB) Viewed 8290 times

How to make the road have seawalls, please send me the link of the tutorial or teach me