Maximum building height for plugins?

Plug-in related stuff can be discussed here.

Moderator: Plugin Moderators

User avatar
mdk_813
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:38
Location: Germany
Plugins: Show

Platform

Maximum building height for plugins?

#1

Post by mdk_813 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 2:17

Yes, I have another question.
I was wondering, whether there is a way to circumvent the maximum building height for plugins of 256px.
I'd like to do something like @Lobby and Theo did with the multicolored TT-apartment buildings. These can grow significantly higher than the 256px.
You know, I'm asking this, because with my Power Comp HQ and my TV Tower I, of course, already maxed out that limit to the very last pixel, but especially with the TV Tower, I would have liked it to be maybe a quarter or even a third higher than the current height.

I guess, the method you guys used to make buildings of variable height works like this:
You provide three separate images, a bottom section, a mid section and a top section. The mid section is then used to determine the actual height.

Is there a way to do that in a plugin, or could you please implement it, if there is not?

Thank you.
My Plugins: Link

PLEASE NOTE: My plugins are not open source! So, ask me first before altering and republishing any of my plugins!

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 7757
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Maximum building height for plugins?

#2

Post by CommanderABab » Mon Aug 07, 2017 2:26

759!759Currently using beta 759. 759 What's new? :)
way to make fence!!
:)

Telegram - t.me/
🆎️🆎️🆎️🆎️Commander🆎️🆎️

User avatar
mdk_813
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:38
Location: Germany
Plugins: Show

Platform

Re: Maximum building height for plugins?

#3

Post by mdk_813 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 3:11

CommanderABab wrote:
Mon Aug 07, 2017 2:26
SeeYou do it via animations.

http://www.theotown.com/forum/viewtopic ... 777#p45777
Ah alright, thanks!
I'll take a look there.
My Plugins: Link

PLEASE NOTE: My plugins are not open source! So, ask me first before altering and republishing any of my plugins!

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3357
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta
Phone model: S7 edge

Platform

Re: Maximum building height for plugins?

#4

Post by Lobby » Mon Aug 07, 2017 10:52

Yes, the multi-colored buildings are split up and loaded as different animations (each of which with a single frame, so no animation in those animations) which are then composed into different buildings. You can do this as well, but actually, it's not needed.

The only limiting factor is build height which may not be greater than 32. So you can easily fix this issue by using

Code: Select all

"build height":32
(if not provided it's inferred by the size of the given frame).

build height is used for construction time and construction height, so it's not a big deal to set it to a smaller value than appropriate. However, there's a reason why build height is limited: really height buildings on the bottom edge of the screen will disappear too early when scrolled out. May be an issue, but maybe it's not :space
...Have a nice stay

User avatar
mdk_813
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 860
Joined: Fri Dec 16, 2016 2:38
Location: Germany
Plugins: Show

Platform

Re: Maximum building height for plugins?

#5

Post by mdk_813 » Mon Aug 07, 2017 16:58

Thanks,
that is really much less complicated than making animations. :thumbsup:
I've just tried it and it works nicely.
The pop-up/pop-out error does occur but it doesn't really bother me that much personally.
My Plugins: Link

PLEASE NOTE: My plugins are not open source! So, ask me first before altering and republishing any of my plugins!

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Plug-In Discussion”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests