Animation control

Any information about the fun attribute is given here.

Moderator: Plugin Moderators

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3640
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Animation control

#1

Post by Lobby »

An often requested feature is animation control using fun. It's possible in recent versions and looks like that :json

Code: Select all

[
  {
    "id": "$anim_test_control00",
    "type": "terrain",
    "width":1,
    "height":1,
    "template":"$template_ground",
    "frames":[{"x":416,"y":96,"w":32,"h":16}],
    "animation":[
      {"id":"$animationfan00","x":-16,"y":-48}  // Animation slot 0
    ],
    "on click fun":{
      "condition":{"type":"animation running"},   // Is animation in slot 0 running?
      "action":{"type":"animation pause"},        // Pause it
      "else action":{"type":"animation resume"}   // Resume it
    }
  }
]
(this plugin doesn't need external graphics, you might just put it in a json file in your plugins folder)
Show
animation running
This condition is true if the animation slot specified by "level" (0 by default) is running right now. If "frame" is provided it will also check for the current visible frame to be the same as "frame".
Show
animation pause
This action pauses the animation slot "level" (0 by default). Additionally sets the frame to "frame" if specified.
Show
animation resume
This action resumes the animation slot "level" (0 by default). Additionally sets the frame to "frame" if specified.
:mine
=^._.^= ∫

User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5347
Joined: Fri Feb 10, 2017 14:53
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Animation control

#2

Post by Bearbear76 »

Is it possible to dictate other animations?
For example

Code: Select all

"condition":{"type":"animation running", "id":"animation ID"},
Just my opinion

User avatar
JustAnyone
Rip-off engineer
Reactions:
Posts: 3113
Joined: Sun Jul 23, 2017 12:45
Location: Easter Island
Plugins: Show

Platform

Re: Animation control

#3

Post by JustAnyone »

Yes, using sloths slots.
"level":1 will use 2nd animation which is defined in building "animation".
:pickle:

User avatar
Imran M
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 13:41
Plugins: Show

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Animation control

#4

Post by Imran M »

So, you can make this stop and start an animation with this type of fun?
I just love the DOPE-amine you get after completing a plugin!

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3640
Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2008 12:34
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Animation control

#5

Post by Lobby »

Yes, that's what it's for.
=^._.^= ∫

User avatar
Imran M
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 13:41
Plugins: Show

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Animation control

#6

Post by Imran M »

Hey, could I get some help? I followed it to a T, but it won't change when I click on it.

Code: Select all    Reset

[{ "id":"2x2HD SE", "type":"animation", "frames":[{ "bmp":"Hangar Doors.png", "x":0, "y":0, "w":16, "count":1, "count y":15, "count x":0 }] },{ "id":"2x2HD SW", "type":"animation", "frames":[{ "bmp":"Hangar Doors.png", "x":16, "y":0, "w":16, "count":1, "count y":0, "count x":0 }] },{ "id":"2x2 Hangar SE", …//same "frames":[{ "bmp":"2x2 Hangar.png", "x":0, "y":0, "w":64, "count":1 }], …//Same "animation":[{ "id":"2x2HD SE", "x":36, "y":-6 }], "on click fun":{ "condition":{"type":"animation running"}, "action":{"type":"animation pause"}, "else action":{"type":"animation resume"} } },{ "id":"2x2 Hangar SW", … //Code that doesn't really matter "frames":[{ "bmp":"2x2 Hangar.png", "x":64, "y":0, "w":64, "count":1 }], …//Same "animation":[{ "id":"2x2HD SW", "x":12, "y":-6 }], "on click fun":{ "condition":{"type":"animation running"}, "action":{"type":"animation pause"}, "else action":{"type":"animation resume"} } }]
JSON checker
Check
2x2 Hangar.png
2x2 Hangar.png (3.91 KiB) Viewed 519 times
Hangar Doors.png
Hangar Doors.png (466 Bytes) Viewed 519 times
Or:
Hangar that don't work.zip
(5.21 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
I just love the DOPE-amine you get after completing a plugin!

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9265
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Animation control

#7

Post by CommanderABab »

Imran M wrote:
Sat Jan 23, 2021 20:55
Hey, could I get some help? I followed it to a T, but it won't change when I click on it.

Code: Select all

[{
    "id":"2x2HD SE",
    "type":"animation",
    "frames":[{
        "bmp":"Hangar Doors.png",
        "x":0,
        "y":0,
        "w":16,
        "count":1,
        "count y":15,
        "count x":0
    }]
},{
    "id":"2x2HD SW",
    "type":"animation",
    "frames":[{
        "bmp":"Hangar Doors.png",
        "x":16,
        "y":0,
        "w":16,
        "count":1,
        "count y":0,
        "count x":0
    }]
},{
    "id":"2x2 Hangar SE",
    …//same
    "frames":[{
        "bmp":"2x2 Hangar.png",
        "x":0,
        "y":0,
        "w":64,
        "count":1
    }],
    …//Same
    "animation":[{
        "id":"2x2HD SE",
        "x":36,
        "y":-6
    }],
    "on click fun":{
        "condition":{"type":"animation running"},
        "action":{"type":"animation pause"},
        "else action":{"type":"animation resume"}
    }
},{
    "id":"2x2 Hangar SW",
    … //Code that doesn't really matter
    "frames":[{
        "bmp":"2x2 Hangar.png",
        "x":64,
        "y":0,
        "w":64,
        "count":1
    }],
    …//Same
    "animation":[{
        "id":"2x2HD SW",
        "x":12,
        "y":-6
    }],
    "on click fun":{
        "condition":{"type":"animation running"},
        "action":{"type":"animation pause"},
        "else action":{"type":"animation resume"}
    }
}]
2x2 Hangar.png
Hangar Doors.png
Or:
Hangar that don't work.zip
Image

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9265
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Animation control

#8

Post by CommanderABab »

In your animation frames definition, what's this section supposed to do?:

Code: Select all

"count":1,
        "count y":15,
        "count x":0
I've never seen anything with a count y or count x.
Maybe your animation doesn't seem to move because it just has a count of 1 which would be a static image.
Image

User avatar
Imran M
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 797
Joined: Wed Oct 24, 2018 13:41
Plugins: Show

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Animation control

#9

Post by Imran M »

CommanderABab wrote:
Sun Jan 24, 2021 13:22
In your animation frames definition, what's this section supposed to do?:

Code: Select all

	"count":1,
        "count y":15,
        "count x":0
I've never seen anything with a count y or count x.
Maybe your animation doesn't seem to move because it just has a count of 1 which would be a static image.
I thought you needed the count x/y to give a sort of point to the anim, then you can specify where you want it?
I think you're right, I wanted it be sort of like a door, and when you click on it, it turns off/disappears. But, it appears that it doesn't remove the animation, it stops it. Do you have anything like a "turn off animation" action?

I could just create 2 more frames (one closed and one opened for each rotation) and just get it to switch frames, kind of like how Lobby did it with that button. However, that'll require more plugin space.
I just love the DOPE-amine you get after completing a plugin!

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 9265
Joined: Tue Jun 07, 2016 21:12
Plugins: Show
Version: Beta

Platform

Plugin Creator

Re: Animation control

#10

Post by CommanderABab »

It would be:

Code: Select all

"handle y": 15,
"handle x":0
:)
Image

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Fun attribute”