Creating a generic region via Console

You have great tips for other players? Share them here.
User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Creating a generic region via Console

#1

Post by Lobby »

Since version 302 you can access a developer console if you have debug mode and experimental features both enabled. You'll find it in the game menu.
Image

What's it good for? Currently not much, but you can create new regions with in (if your device supports it which depends on the size of the region you would like to create).

Let's assume we want to create a region that looks a bit like that:
Image
The biggest maps should be of size huge which means 4x4. For more information about the coordinate system in regions see this thread.

To do so, you can use the command cr (create region). For the given example the command code may look like

Code: Select all

cr:{name:"My Region",seed:"1703110296",size:8,maps:[0,0,4, 4,0,4, 0,4,2, 2,4,2, 0,6,2, 2,6,2, 4,6,2, 6,6,2, 4,4,1, 5,4,1, 6,4,1, 7,4,1, 4,5,1, 5,5,1, 6,5,1, 7,5,1]}
I recommend to just play with it. The array of numbers represents a list of maps in the region of the form [x,y,size,x,y,size,...] where x and y are the position of the map and size is it's size. You may notice that it's easy to do something wrong here, so it's helpful to make some notes about the region you want to create before writing the code.

:66:
Use "terrain":true to create regions with hills.

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

#2

Post by CommanderABab »

Yes.

User avatar
NisekoKilla
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 345
Joined: 16 Nov 2016, 15:22
Location: UK
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

#3

Post by NisekoKilla »

No cheat codes?

User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Creating a genéric región vía consola

#4

Post by Mg3094066 »

Was this region already by default? Apparently there are a few pieces lost
http://www.theotown.com/forum/userpix/1 ... 1mp4_4.png

<changed image to link to make the thread more readable>

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

#5

Post by Lobby »

@Mg3094066
No, this region might be created by the console, but something went wrong or you had an mistake in the command.

@LukasMelbourne
No cheat codes.


@former member_danevich
You cannot modify existing regions, but for new regions you have a lot of control of individual map sizes. If the region size if 16 (not like in the sample above) you can put 4 giant maps into the region by using maps:[0,0,8, 8,0,8, 0,8,8, 8,8,8]

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a genéric región vía consola

#6

Post by CommanderABab »

Mg3094066 wrote:Was this region already by default? Apparently there are a few pieces lost
Stuckenborstel is the default name used until the region is finished. So, if you provided a name in the console command and the created region is named Stuckenborstel, then all maps were not created. Probably due to memory issues.

User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Creating a genéric región vía console

#7

Post by Mg3094066 »


User avatar
Josh
Graphic designer
Reactions:
Posts: 2214
Joined: 11 Mar 2017, 19:20
Location: The Netherlands
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

#8

Post by Josh »

Does your ram change when you build a city?

User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#9

Post by Mg3094066 »

I have a bug (using 308)
Attachments
CONSOLE BUG.png

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#10

Post by CommanderABab »

It should be maps[0,0,8] for one map.

User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#11

Post by Mg3094066 »

I would like to know how I can add more giant maps to this region since my phone does not support the creation of more than 2 giant maps at the same time :bq
Attachments
NEW MEXICO WILL EXPAND
NEW MEXICO WILL EXPAND

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#12

Post by CommanderABab »

There is a tutorial on creating regions. You have to make the maps, then copy them to a region folder and then create or edit the json file.

User avatar
AustrianBuilder
Settler
Reactions:
Posts: 2
Joined: 06 Sep 2017, 20:34

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#13

Post by AustrianBuilder »

Can anyone send me the Code/Command for the Default Map?? :bq

User avatar
Borbor
Inhabitant of a Conurbation
Reactions:
Posts: 360
Joined: 27 Apr 2017, 14:03
Location: Republic of Turkey
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#14

Post by Borbor »

I just found out that it's a console :lol:

User avatar
Kulche
Pluche
Reactions:
Posts: 1141
Joined: 07 Jun 2017, 20:28
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#15

Post by Kulche »

Lol :lol:

I was searching for it for 'bout 15 mins
Then scrolled menu down

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#16

Post by Lobby »

Round region:

Code: Select all

cr:{name:"Round",seed:"1451379981",size:12,maps:[4,4,4,4,0,4,0,4,4,8,4,4,4,8,4,2,2,2,8,2,2,2,8,2,8,8,2,2,1,1,3,1,1,8,1,1,9,1,1,1,2,1,1,3,1,1,8,1,1,9,1,10,2,1,10,3,1,10,8,1,10,9,1,2,10,1,3,10,1,8,10,1,9,10,1]}
May look like :img
Screenshot_20180503-210928.png

User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#17

Post by Mg3094066 »

If someone puts the region for download it?
My phone its almost a potato

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#18

Post by CommanderABab »

cr:{name:"CommanderABab",seed:"CommanderABab",size:12,maps:[4,4,4,4,0,4,0,4,4,8,4,4,4,8,4,2,2,2,8,2,2,2,8,2,8,8,2,2,1,1,3,1,1,8,1,1,9,1,1,1,2,1,1,3,1,1,8,1,1,9,1,10,2,1,10,3,1,10,8,1,10,9,1,2,10,1,3,10,1,8,10,1,9,10,1]}

User avatar
CommanderABab
AB
Reactions:
Posts: 11080
Joined: 07 Jun 2016, 21:12
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#19

Post by CommanderABab »

CommanderABabregion.zip
(4.88 MiB) Downloaded 467 times
Looks like a round of this:
Image

User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Creating a generic region via Console

#20

Post by Mg3094066 »

Challenge Acepted
Attachments
IMG_20180505_150240_829.JPG

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Tips and Tricks”