Scripting Documentation

The Lua scripting language allows you to give your plugin more advanced features.

Moderator: Plugin Moderators

User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Scripting Documentation

#1

Post by Lobby »

Lua scripting is supported for several months now. It basically allows you to do more interactive plugins similar to fun.

The documentation contains both, some general information about Lua scripting as well a detailed description for all scripting libraries.

Lua Documentation :lua: :teach

It's not finished yet, but I'm working on :mine
The current state should allow you to already get started.
User avatar
Mg3094066
Inhabitant of a Supercluster
Reactions:
Posts: 3223
Joined: 28 May 2017, 01:50
Location: Venezuelan Republic of Mexico
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#2

Post by Mg3094066 »

this allows you to modify the game? like adding new options and that things?
:lua: :calc
User avatar
Imran M
Inhabitant of a Country
Reactions:
Posts: 844
Joined: 24 Oct 2018, 13:41
Plugins: Showcase Store

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#3

Post by Imran M »

Mg3094066 wrote: 21 Jan 2019, 01:21 this allows you to modify the game? like adding new options and that things?
:lua: :calc
Maybe. It's basically more complex json that has more advanced options and doesn't describe buildings. You can use it to make a toast (basically a text that pops up, but isn't like ingame notifications). I'm kind of getting mixed up with fun functionality, so you should talk to someone else.

Edit: This has hardly any info... so you should probably just skip this. But you could read it if you want to.
User avatar
JustAnyone
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3470
Joined: 23 Jul 2017, 12:45
Location: Easter Island
Plugins: Showcase Store

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#4

Post by JustAnyone »

You can create cool stuff like planets with this!
User avatar
Hadestia
Inhabitant of a Megalopolis
Reactions:
Posts: 727
Joined: 17 Jul 2017, 16:16
Location: Philippines
Plugins: Showcase Store
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#5

Post by Hadestia »

If the game allow us to use java instead of lua?
User avatar
Lobby
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3705
Joined: 26 Oct 2008, 12:34
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#6

Post by Lobby »

No, because for that a compiler would be needed; it would be overkill to do that for scripting functionality.

In addition, it would be much harder to prevent Java programs from doing malicious things.
User avatar
Hadestia
Inhabitant of a Megalopolis
Reactions:
Posts: 727
Joined: 17 Jul 2017, 16:16
Location: Philippines
Plugins: Showcase Store
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#7

Post by Hadestia »

Lobby wrote: 22 Dec 2019, 15:43 No, because for that a compiler would be needed; it would be overkill to do that for scripting functionality.

In addition, it would be much harder to prevent Java programs from doing malicious things.
Oh okay i get it
User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5730
Joined: 10 Feb 2017, 14:53
Location: L2 cache
Plugins: Showcase Store

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#8

Post by Bearbear76 »

Trust me Lua can do 99% of the stuff you want to do.
You could also make some malicious plugin by using l o o p s. :twisted:
User avatar
Hadestia
Inhabitant of a Megalopolis
Reactions:
Posts: 727
Joined: 17 Jul 2017, 16:16
Location: Philippines
Plugins: Showcase Store
Contact:

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#9

Post by Hadestia »

If all lua's definition or maybe tags ? and attribute is applicable?
User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5730
Joined: 10 Feb 2017, 14:53
Location: L2 cache
Plugins: Showcase Store

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#10

Post by Bearbear76 »

rjroldan1 wrote: 23 Dec 2019, 04:29 If all lua's definition or maybe tags ? and attribute is applicable?
uhh, using all of the functions of Lua? then, yeah probably.
I know what tags and attributes are in html but not in Lua.
User avatar
ian`
Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 117
Joined: 04 Apr 2020, 17:36
Location: Indonesien
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#11

Post by ian` »

Why do some functions not show changes? i used the road condition, then built the road deco, so i use isRoadDeco, but it didn't get any changes. other cases, i put some numbers in x and y, but that didn't happen any actions.
User avatar
Bearbear76
Former Bearbear65
Reactions:
Posts: 5730
Joined: 10 Feb 2017, 14:53
Location: L2 cache
Plugins: Showcase Store

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#12

Post by Bearbear76 »

distian wrote: 07 Jun 2020, 13:49 Why do some functions not show changes? i used the road condition, then built the road deco, so i use isRoadDeco, but it didn't get any changes. other cases, i put some numbers in x and y, but that didn't happen any actions.
isRoadDeco() will return a boolean (true/false) value. It won't change anything is the program it's more of a "checking function". Post the code here and I can give you some advice. ;)
User avatar
ian`
Supporter
Reactions:
Posts: 117
Joined: 04 Apr 2020, 17:36
Location: Indonesien
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#13

Post by ian` »

Ølsken wrote: 07 Jun 2020, 16:06 isRoadDeco() will return a boolean (true/false) value. It won't change anything is the program it's more of a "checking function". Post the code here and I can give you some advice. ;)
Yes, i have seen all values or return of function in doc website. Boolean, number, or string.

Code: Select all

function script:click(x,y)
if Tile.isRoadDeco == true and Tile.getTraffic >= 0.3 then
stuff
end
When i'm just use getTraffic condition, the script is work, but when i put the road deco, isn't work. What should i do when road deco in my road, then just use getTraffic, lua can't detection anything. :bt
User avatar
JustAnyone
Developer
Reactions:
Posts: 3470
Joined: 23 Jul 2017, 12:45
Location: Easter Island
Plugins: Showcase Store

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#14

Post by JustAnyone »

You need to provide it with x, y and level arguments
User avatar
Wepf
Inhabitant of a Megacity
Reactions:
Posts: 285
Joined: 14 Oct 2021, 10:19
Location: Your lucid dream
Plugins: Showcase Store
Version: Beta

Plugin Creator

Platform

Re: Scripting Documentation

#15

Post by Wepf »

3mu6s6v784g51.jpg
Post Reply Previous topicNext topic

Return to “Lua Scripting”